Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Multiple containers for one rails app?

(Nroose) #1

I am a Ruby on Rails developer. Currently I use virtual machines to make it so that I can work on more than one separate bug/feature at the same time, on different git branches. Is there a good way to do that using docker? I gather than most who are talking about rails development with docker, they seem to have the code locally and run it in a container with the code synced or mounted in some way. I would have 3 or so different branches of the code that I am working on. I am planning on trying to have a compose file with multiple rails app directories underneath it that I put in different docker containers that share a mysql db in it’s own container. Does that make sense?

(Eric Ongerth) #2

Yes, that makes sense as long as it truly serves your intended purpose.

When you say “they seem to have the code locally and run it in a container with the code synced or mounted in some way” – yes, they are using a bind mount (see docker or docker-compose docs regarding how to declare data volumes) or an add-on sync solution such as docker-sync.io. (side note, don’t try to bind mount on docker-for-windows, as of this writing, IMO; there have been persistent permissions/ownership issues and it’s specifically a docker-for-windows problem.)