Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Trouble with installation

(Cartier) #1

I am brand new to docker. Running into an issue where the start .sh script will not run. Rather than executing, it simply opens in notepad. I have followed the installation instructions meticulously. Re-installing didn’t help.

Using Win 7, boot2docker 1.5.0 from https://github.com/boot2docker/windows-installer/releases/tag/v1.5.0.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

(Jerry Baker) #2

Hi Cartier,

This sounds like any file with the .sh extension is set to open with notepad. You can fix this by:

• Clicking the start button and selecting Default Programs
  • On the Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Default Programs window that comes up, click the Associate a file type or protocol with a program
  • In the list of file types you need to find and select the .sh extension
  • After you’ve selected .sh - Click the Change Program… button in the top right
  • You might have the sh.exe program listed in the Recommend Programs section - If so, select it, click OK, Click Close, and you should be good to go
  • If sh.exe isn’t listed you’re going to have to find it - Click the browse button and navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\Bin\ and select sh.exe - Click Open, Click OK, Click Close, then you should be set

Jerry

(Cartier) #3

Thank you for the detailed explanation Jerry. That worked to run the file. Now I am getting the following error when running the file:

line 5: clear: command not found

Here is the content of my start.sh:

#!/bin/bash
set -e

# clear the MSYS MOTD
clear

cd "$(dirname "$BASH_SOURCE")"

ISO="$HOME/.boot2docker/boot2docker.iso"

if [ ! -e "$ISO" ]; then
    echo 'copying initial boot2docker.iso (run "boot2docker.exe download" to update)'
    mkdir -p "$(dirname "$ISO")"
    cp ./boot2docker.iso "$ISO"
fi

echo 'initializing...'
./boot2docker.exe init
echo

echo 'starting...'
./boot2docker.exe start
echo