Unable to run docker image inside Container

Hi All,

I am new to docker, I am trying to run windows service inside container.

This is my sample code which I follow.

Use an official Microsoft runtime as a parent image

FROM Microsoft Artifact Registry

SHELL [“powershell”, “-Command”, “$ErrorActionPreference = ‘Stop’; $ProgressPreference = ‘SilentlyContinue’;”]

Copy the solution file

COPY “Sample/bin/Debug” C:\Service

ENTRYPOINT [“powershell”]
CMD [“C:\Service\MyService.exe”];

When I tried using docker ps, my docker image is not running.
When I execute the container, I am getting below error

Error response from daemon: Container ad20a5b9169aacb3a76c2b0f213abcc65f5356dca2165df71c12c426b91ac680 is not running

I may be lame please do help me on this problem.

I have no experience with Windows containers, though I stumbled across the topic title, as it doesn’t really make sense.

You seem to build an image and try to run a container from that image, though how is this “Unable to run docker image inside Container”.

Have you tried to check docker container logs for the container?

Yes, I dont see any docker logs, its getting exited within 14 secs. When I try to check using docker ps, I dont see my docker image in the list.

docker ps (or docker container ls) lists containers. docker image ls lists images.
A container is created based on an image. An image does never run - it is just the packaging and delivery artifact.

Please share how you start the container: the exact command, or if docker compose is used the content of the compose file.

First I try to build and run the docker using below commands,

Build the image - docker buid -t test .
Running the container :docker run -t test
docker ps → no running containers
docker ps -a → Will see the conatiner Id and image
docker exec -it container_id cmd

These are the commands I try in powershell

If this does not show the container, then trying to exec into it can’t work.