Is Swarm what I am looking for?

Hi,
I am quite new to Docker and I found out that documentation doesn’t give me many answers.
I need to use docker for testing application (in Tomcat for example) - that is ok, we are using it.
But because we need to run a lot of containers at the same moment I want to have more machines with docker engine - I thought I can use Swarm for this - I will send request like “docker run …” to the manager and he will check which work is free and ready and will run it there. That’s all I want - basically load balancer.
Is it really what is that for? (I don’t care much about service discovery).
The thing is that I am trying it now (1.12v) and I am not sure anymore that Swarm is what I need, because I can’t simply use docker run commands as before and docker service is problematic (for example I want to use -P to map on random ports, etc.).
Can someone tell me how is it …maybe there is something else for my use case?
Thanks.

@madleeen, I’m unsure of your use case, but swarm mode in Docker 1.12 does provide load balancing. The documentation for swarm mode is a work in progress, but maybe the following will help.

You can publish a port for a service using the --publish flag for docker service create. You can see an example in the “play with service” section of this blog post: https://feiskyer.github.io/2016/06/24/Play-with-docker-v1-12/

HTH.

I just want to run individual containers in swarm mode. Which someone on IRC told be that cannot be done (in swarm mode), therefore I am now trying to install full docker swarm. It is confusing.
I needed flag --publishall (or -P), which I didn’t find how to make it working.

We are using swarm for massive running containers with different constraints (using for regions separation).
We use external non-containerized swarm and consul cluster with lb in front of it .
As i know swarm can be used in 1.12 same way without docker native swarm mode.