The comprehensive approach to Docker and Web App Development

As I write this first line, I already fear this is going to be too long for anyone to follow. That said, I’ll do my best to keep this as short as possible, and ask my questions as concisely as I can given that i’m just one step above novice with Docker at this point. I appreciate your patience as you wade through my quagmire (giggity).

Okay… so I’ve been using Docker for about 3-4 months now (time has flown), and I have a decent grasp of how it works. I’ve deployed several Docker containers into (web app) production, but only in a very rudimentary sense… I think maybe one of my deployments has separate db and web server instances, and the rest were such simple sites that I they are self-contained LOMP/WordPress (O=OpenLiteSpeed) containers. But I’m primarily a web APP developer, not a WordPress deployer… I build ColdFusion/Lucee sites/apps custom made for clients that need it.

I am fully aware that the power of Docker comes in having well-defined, single purpose containers, and have been working my way up to that.

But now I’m faced with some old-dog-new-tricks dillemas… primarily, how to develop atop a Docker base configuration, deploy to production, and then incrementally update my code/application in the most efficient way possible.

My old way, (beyond the days of FTP/sync), was pretty standard (I think?):

1. Install web server, lucee, and database on my local machine, and configure them for my environment, keeping track of settings that would need to be replicated in production.

2. Copy my base code framework (e.g. CFWheels, or perhaps Mura if I wanted a kick-started CF-based CMS) into the root directory of my web/lucee server, including deployment scripts i’ve written that would allow the production server to pull changes from BitBucket when a webhook at BitBucket was called upon push of master/with tags.

3. Initiate a git repo with this base config, and push to bitbucket.