Use of Container Utility VM folder Docker

Hello Everone,

I am a newbie in Docker. I am using Docker for my local development environment. Although I have mapped my Docker to the secondary drive (F) in my case, so that it doesn’t occupy space in C drive, I observed my C drive was still getting occupied.

When I digged little deeper, I realized that Container Utility Folder at C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Hyper-V Windows was occupying almost 30GB of space.

Can anyone please help me out in understanding what exactly this folder plays the role in docker. Is is safe to delete the contents of the folder to regain some space in C drive.

Thanks,
Anvay.

Are you sure it is 30GB and not 30MB? On my machine it contains two VHDX files. The first is 36MB, the second is 30MB. And there is a third file which a VMRS. I couldn’t find much information about this folder but you should not remove it. A VHDX file is a virtual disk file for a virtual machine. The VMRS contains the current state of the running virtual machine if I am not mistaken. One of the VHDX files is actually available from the Disk Management on my machine.You can try to mount them from the disk management in read-only mode but I could not attach the VHDX wich also had a VMRS with the same ID.

The attachable VHDX is the one which is already in the Disk Management and that is virtually 10GB. I could assign a driver letter to it and see it contains Windows system folders like EFI. I could not find out what the other VHDX is. It doesnt matter if I use Linux containers or Windows containers. I even switched to the Hyper-V backend from WSL and the size of this folder remains the same but the files are in use so you probably could not even delete them.

Yes, I am sure. In fact it is almost 35GB. So it is consuming a lot of space as you can imagine. Now only 45 GB space is available on my C drive.

I am attaching screenshot of the folder properties for the reference
Container Utility VM Properties