Installing applications in Docker and using them on OS

I’m new to Linux and just in the process of trying to setup Wine so I can run some old Windows games and programs. I’m also setting up OnlyOffice as well and a LAMP server. I’d like all three to be run isolated in different containers to the rest of the system.

However, I’d like my files (exe, docx, php etc) to sit on the hard drive of the OS itself in the regular places you would have them. Potentially I’d have each one under a different user account as well for additional security. When anyone attempts to run these files, they would only run in the container of e.g. OnlyOffice, because that’s where OnlyOffice is installed. The files may be on different partitions as well, so I need centralised containers for the apps to run them wherever they are located.

Would Docker work for this functionality? Or am I looking more at something like Firejail/AppArmour instead? From what I have read it doesn’t seem like Docker is what I’m after but I just want a way to isolate the running of the apps and the overarching software that controls them into the container but the files can exist anywhere so there’s less to worry about and I can structure things the way I’d like. I don’t think there would be any issues if the files themselves existed outside the container.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Why I would not choose Docker

• You opened the topic in the “Docker Desktop for Linux” category and Docker Desktop is for development, so that is definitely not for you.
  • Docker CE is which is running also in the virtual machine of Docker Desktop and it existed even before Docker Desktop. It is still not for running applications with GUI, however, you could do that.